top of page
Featured Review

Stretch Marks

 Do stretch marks mean you're fat?

     I have been dealing with stretch marks since 7th grade. I immediately assumed it meant I was fat. (To be clear I was in no way overweight- I was a healthy 13 year old). But from the first day I noticed these lines on my thighs I thought I was “fat” or something was wrong with me. I was lucky enough to never acquire an eating disorder with these thoughts. But what I did do was hide them constantly. I didn't want other people to see them or ask about them. We were 13! It wasn't all that common to have stretch marks at this age. Or at least no one ever talked about it. So… I hid them. Every summer we would always spend a lot of time at a friends pool, which was always a ton of fun, but that meant a bathing suit… which meant showing my thighs.. which meant revealing my stretch marks. Since I wanted to avoid all of this I would wear shorts OVER my bathing suit bottom to cover my thighs- aka my stretch marks. People still thought I was weird for wearing shorts to a pool, but to me that was better than seeing those lines I guess. I still have these marks to this day and I even have gained more. To put this into perspective I'm 5’5.5”, 142ish lbs, 23%body fat. This subject is something that I've always been self conscious about. But I realized, it's just the way my body responds to any increase in body fat. I can't change my genetics. And at least now I understand it a little better. I hold my fat more in my thighs, which is why the skin grows quicker there, causing stretch marks. I've found that they could also be hormone related. An increase in cortisone levels (during puberty perhaps) drastically increases the likelihood of stretch marks forming. And like I said.. It's just part of my genetic makeup that I'm more likely to get them (thanks mom and dad)! There are some people who are lucky enough to never have to deal with this issue. One of my best friends recently had a -beautiful- baby girl and never had any stretch marks throughout her pregnancy! What a bitch, I know ;). Some people are just predispositioned to them! Stretch marks could technically be the skin growing fast, but that by no means makes someone obese! Us, women, shouldn't have to be ashamed by this mark on our skin. It doesn't define our health and it doesn't define us. I have stretch marks and I will always have stretch marks, no matter my body fat %. Might as well learn to love them since I'm stuck with them :). Xoxo, Cam 

Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page